Crockpot Oatmeal Success!

It’s amazing how an idea can drive creativity. While I had never even considered making oatmeal with my crockpot, I was determined to make it work for me. I don’t have steel cut oats–I hear they are wonderful–but it won’t help me with the regular oats and crockpot I do have.
Since the drive was there after the oatmeal mush experiment, I felt compelled to try again. I decided to use much less than before: one cup of dried oats. I basically followed the directions on the box except I threw it in my crockpot in the evening, gave it a stir and put it on warm.
I woke up to no oatmeal. It was gone. I asked how it was. Apparently the problem was not having enough. That’s a problem I can live with. I doubled it the next day, and it turned out great. In fact, I think it’s better than I do cooking it on the stove–mostly because I am impatient. The other part is that I wasn’t designed to function first thing in the morning. This is a great solution for me. Make it the night before and wake up to warm, yummy oatmeal in the morning. Sweet.
Now my dilemma will be figuring out when I can make yogurt with oatmeal in the lineup.

About Cheryl

Professional Blogger Guitar teacher Wife Mom Writer Cook Baker Photographer Computer geek Crafter
This entry was posted in Cooking and Baking and tagged , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

