Setting a time budget

While I was writing down some of the goals (and some dreams) I wanted to accomplish this year, I began to feel the pinch of time. When in the world am I going to do all these things! Some items on my list are not essentials, so how can I justify doing those when other duties scream, “Me first!” These desires may not be necessary like food on the table or clean underwear, but I know what chaos will be in my head and heart if I don’t pursue them. I am the kind of person content to be going in the the right direction even if I can’t get all my boxes checked off. I am a terrible manager of time as well. I wonder if those two things go together.
So I began writing down a time budget–not an idea unique to me. I started with 168 hours in a week. I began to think through all the things I needed to do–the essential–like sleep, eat, cook meals. I wrote down how long I thought each task would take knowing that some things will overlap. But at 168 hours, I needed to stop. I am planning on tracking myself starting on Monday to see how I really spend my time but, at the same time, keeping in my mind the goals of what I want to incorporate in my week–like exercise. That always gets squeezed out. In the process, I will discover essentials that I didn’t put down while traveling back home from our Christmas vacation.

About Cheryl

Professional Blogger Guitar teacher Wife Mom Writer Cook Baker Photographer Computer geek Crafter
This entry was posted in Time and organization and tagged . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

